Can 2 players control the same legendary creature in MTG?
Short answer: no. Legendaries don't play well with duplicates. Think of them as the game's divas; only one can shine on stage at a time.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Nope, in Magic The Gathering, two players can't control the same legendary creature at the same time. If a second instance of the same legendary creature enters the battlefield, the state-based action called the 'legend rule' kicks in. This rule forces the player who controls both legendary creatures with the same name to choose one and put the other into the graveyard. So, if you and your opponent each have the same legendary creature, that's totally fine, but you can't both control the same one on your side!
Actually, there's a fun exception with cards like 'Helm of the Host'. This artifact can create a non-legendary copy of a legendary creature, so technically, you could control two creatures with the same name, but one won't be legendary. But, strictly speaking, you and a buddy can't share custody of a legendary creature on the battlefield.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer