Can you assign more than lethal damage in MTG?
Oh absolutely, you can overkill to your heart's content in Magic The Gathering! If you've got a 10/10 creature smashing into a poor 1/1, you're free to assign all 10 damage to it if you want. The reason? Sometimes it's just about sending a message. But seriously, the rules do allow you to assign more damage than necessary, but all excess damage only really matters if you have effects or abilities that capitalize on dealing damage, like trample.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Definitely can! I do it all the time when I play with my friends. It's especially hilarious when you've got a creature with trample and you just roll over their defenders with way more damage than needed. Plus, if you've got cards that benefit from dealing damage, it's not just fun, it's strategy.
Nope, why waste it? Once you have enough damage to destroy the creature or defeat your opponent, just move on. It's like using a sledgehammer to crack a nut.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer