Can you block and sacrifice a creature in MTG?
Absolutely! You can declare your creature as a blocker and then, before damage is dealt, you can sacrifice it for its ability or a spell's cost. This strategy can really throw your opponent for a loop, especially if they were not expecting to lose their attacking creature without dealing combat damage.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Yep, it's a legit move. Block then sac. Great way to make the best out of a bad situation.
Tried it, loved it. Blocking and then sacrificing your creature can really mess with your opponent's calculations. Just make sure your sacrifice is worth the trade!
Honestly, it's a bit of a cheeky move, but totally within the rules. Just be ready for some serious side-eye from across the table.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer