Can you use creature abilities on your first turn in MTG?
Totally, you can use creature abilities on your first turn in Magic The Gathering, but there's a catch. Your creature needs to not have 'summoning sickness,' a rule that prevents most creatures from attacking or using abilities that require tapping the same turn they come into play. However, if the ability doesn't require tapping or the creature has haste (which means it's not affected by summoning sickness), go wild!
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
No way, summoning sickness says hi. Unless it's a haste creature, then maybe.
Absolutely! I've been playing MTG for years, and using abilities on the first turn can be a game-changer. Just remember the summoning sickness rule. But if you're talking about creatures like Ornithopter with abilities that don't require tapping, then yes, fire away from turn one!
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer