Do you tap to block in Magic The Gathering?
Nope, you don't need to tap your creatures to block in MTG. When it's time for the defending player to declare blockers during the combat phase, they can choose untapped creatures to block incoming attackers. Just remember, once a creature is tapped, it can't be declared as a blocker until it's untapped again.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Nah, keep'em untapped. If they're tapped, they're basically taking a nap and missing the action. Blocking's off the menu for them.
Actually no, tapping isn't required to block. It seems counterintuitive but that's how the rules roll. Your creatures can stand tall and block without tapping. Just make sure they aren't already snoozing from tapping for another reason!
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer