Does protection work against board wipes in MTG?
Nope, protection won't save your creatures from board wipes in MTG. Protection stops things like damage, enchanting, blocking, and targeting from whatever it's protected from. But since most board wipes don't target or deal damage (they just say 'destroy all creatures' or something similar), your protected creatures are going to the graveyard unless the protection specifically says it protects from 'all' or from the exact effect.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Short answer: No, it doesn't. Protection in MTG is more about targeting and damage. Board wipes usually don't target.
Protection? Against board wipes? Forget it, doesn't work. If a board wipe is coming, start planning your next move.
Actually, protection does work against some board wipes, but it's super specific. Like, if a board wipe deals damage and your creature has protection from that type of damage, it'll survive. But those are rare exceptions, not the rule.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer