Does sacrificing a creature count as dying in MTG?
Yep, in the world of Magic The Gathering, when you sacrifice a creature, it definitely counts as dying. This little rule makes for some interesting strategies, especially when you're playing with cards that get bonuses from creatures dying!
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Absolutely, sacrificing a creature in MTG is considered the same as that creature dying. So, any effects that trigger upon death will also trigger when you sacrifice a creature. Clever deck builders use this to their advantage!
Quick answer: Yes, sacrifice = death in MTG. Great for death triggers!
Nah, think of it more like sending your creatures on a very permanent vacation. Just kidding! Sacrificing totally counts as dying. It's a key tactic for triggering those 'whenever a creature dies' abilities.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer