Does Trample Damage Go Through if Something Has Protection in MTG?
Absolutely it does! Think of it this way: if your creature with trample attacks and the defending creature has protection (from the color of your attacker, for example), your trample damage will still stomp right over it. The key is dealing lethal damage to the protected one (which in this case is kinda nothing due to protection) and the rest goes through to the player!
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Short answer: Yes. Damage assignment rules let the excess trample over, even if the blocker has protection.
Nope, it doesn't work like that. Protection means it's totally protected, right? Wrong. In MTG, protection stops direct damage and effects, but trample damage calculates excess damage over the blocker, so the rest does indeed hit the player or planeswalker being attacked.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer